Wednesday, October 21, 2009

Certified Nursing Assistants Are Critical To Health Care Organizations

Written by Melanie Ullman
Certified Nursing Assistant, or "CNA" is a vital part of an effective health care organization. On a daily basis they provide care to the elderly, chronically ill, and individuals who may require special care in nursing homes or long term care facilities. It has been shown that in the next twenty years there will be a need for an additional 700,000 CNAs in the United States. It is important then that CNA Training (Certified Nursing Assistant) programs provide an individual with all of the tools they will need to thrive in their career as a CNA.

There are different titles for a Nursing Assistant who has been certified by the state in which they live. In addition to the different titles, the requirements to become a CNA also differ. Some states require more educational training and other states require more clinical training prior to being qualified to take the examination.

The length of time it takes to complete CNA Training (Certified Nursing Assistant) varies depending on who is teaching the courses, where the clinical training is taking place, and the state requirements for certification. Contacting the State Department that certifies Nursing Assistants will help one to find out what the requirements are for certification.

When a person makes the decision to begin a CNA (Certified Nursing Assistant) Training Program they will find that there are many opportunities available in their local area to take the necessary classes and get the clinical training that is needed. There are two phases in the CNA Training that must be completed before one can take the examination.

The first phase of the CNA Training (Certified Nursing Assistant) is conducted in a classroom setting. An individual must take certain classes which include medical terminology, First Aid, Fundamentals of Nursing, and other medical education courses. These prepare a person for working in the clinical environment safely and effectively.

The second phase of CNA Training (Certified Nursing Assistant) is clinical experience. An individual must work a specific number of hours in a clinical setting before they can take the examination for certification. The number of hours varies from state to state and can range from 40 hours to over 75 hours.

After completing both the educational and clinical requirements to qualify for the examination an individual then requests testing through the Department of Nursing Aide Programs in their State. The test will consist of two parts. The first part of the examination is based on the educational components that have been learned and the second part is designed to prove that an individual has the necessary skills to perform the job.

When a CNA moves to a different state they must request reciprocity and meet the requirements of that state before they can begin working in a facility. The requirements for reciprocity vary from state to state but in most states there are some educational requirements that must be met before a reciprocity request is granted. A person wishing to request reciprocity should contact the State Department of Nursing Aide Training Programs to get the details and requirements for the specific state they are moving to.

1 comment:

  1. A good post on Nursing School Programs
    I did come across a website It’s has all information on first aid emergencies. It has information on Human emergencies and even for pets like cat or dog. Hope it help you guys too.

    Signature: Online First Aid Kit